The world of EVDO

I played with an EV-DO card today – the Novatel Merlin s620 and wow – it is actually fast – I mean, we did streaming video – not bad at all – I wanted to push the envelope, but at the time in the training class, we actually had to wait on some people to finish with the laptop’s that we had available to us, so I didn’t get to see anything like a VOIP call or anything like that.  I started searching on the net because of it – I mean, I had been interested before, but I noticed a couple of things – first, the AirPrime cards are supported by the kernel (at least, I *think* they are – I saw a driver for them) – and apparently, the s620 is supported by the basic usbserial driver, as the card itself is a USB modem, and the card has a Lucent OHCI usb chipset on it.  Must do more research – wish I had a card myself.  Sprint is offering a deal on them though – 250 dollars is what they cost without a plan or anything – but you can get it for free basically – and you have 2 plans to choose from, IF you have voice service, you can get unlimited data usage for 59.99 a month, or if you don’t want a voice plan, you pay 79.99 a month.

 

Now if I could just get someone to hook me up with some money so I could buy one to play with. 

Leave a Reply

